Soft-Baked Snickerdoodles

Hi Everyone!

First post on my new blog. Whoopee! I’ve been so excited for this…you have no idea. 🙂

I know you will probably scroll & scroll down to the bottom of this post to the recipe…but for those who don’t…thanks!

Anyways, I am addicted to love baking. Really, I do. And, you know, they might not always turn out perfect (exploding mug cakes, anyone?) but it’s still fun, unless it involves mad dashes to the store to grab an ingredient previously forgotten by yours truly. (Hehe) Now, I’m not one of the people who can magically come up with a recipe off the top of my head (to those of you who can, kudoos kudos  to you). I used to be a lurker, silently following and subscribing to other’s blogs, trying out other recipes like three-ingredient chocolate bars or almond-flour pancakes. I loosely follow the Paleo Diet (though it’s not really a diet but I’m not quite sure what else to call it). If you aren’t familiar with what the (strict) Paleo Diet is, it’s cutting back on pasteurized dairy products (or all dairy), grains, legumes, & refined sugars, and it’s a lot of lean protein and veggies. As in how people in the Paleolithic Era ate (if you didn’t get it before, you just got it now).

But almond flour desserts can only go so far, no? I mean, I like chicken breast or kale as much as the next guy, but spinach brownies? In other words, a bit of a sorry excuse for a dessert.

So I bake for the rest of my family, who believe a s’mores pop tart trumps baked oatmeal any day. Or use any other excuse for baking. Bake-sales, birthdays, even Christmas presents (it’s cheap and they get a kick out of getting their favorite homemade cookie for breakfast). The only part I don’t like is the clean-up, and even that has its enjoyable moments (licking the spoon…mmm 🙂 Raw eggs = salmonella…yeah, yeah, yeah. It’s worth it for a spoonful of cookie dough!

A little bit about the author, you say? But still, you ask, why is there yet another baking blog…there’s so many already! What’s different about this one?

Whelp.

Now that’s a question.

I guess, what’s different, is that many who have baking and/or cooking blogs already know how to bake and the correct way to measure flour and all that.

I, on the other hand, do not. 

Correction: I’m not an expert. Yes, I know how to operate an oven and the difference between a tablespoon and a teaspoon, but I’m no expert baker.

Far from it.

So, in short, you, dearest reader, will be learning along with me. If I post a recipe for a red velvet mug cake, I will most likely have had multiple test-runs with the above-said recipe, and a tip or two (do not, under any circumstances, overfill your mug. It will explode).

I know some get annoyed when blogs dedicated to food bring in their personal life. So I’ll have a separate page (the posts will still show up on my home feed) for personal posts. They won’t be too frequent, but every once in a while. Pictures included!

So, there’s that! 🙂 Now onto the recipe for today…cinnamony, sugary, soft-baked snickerdoodley cookies!

I made the little labels because I wrapped them as a gift. Adorable, no?

wrapcookieshot

You will love these cookies. They’re soft, sugary, warm, buttery, and have that delicious kick that cinnamon gives! Have I got you craving these cookies yet? As far as cookie preferences go, I’m one for puffy & warm & melty cookies, especially with little bits of chocolate chips oozing out of dough pockets.

Another story for another time.

Now, I’m not one to turn down a cookie, but if I had a choice, I’d pick a puffy, soft-baked cookie over the thin, crackery-kind.

Good! Another reason they’re great? They’re super-duper easy. If I can do it, so can you! (Demotivational sayings :P)

No dough-chilling either. Mix ’em up, pop ’em in, shove the batch down your throat. Simple as that!

ingredientssnickerdoodle

What you’ll need…

  • 2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, softened to room-temp
  • 1 & 1/3 cup sugar (granulated)
  • 1 (largeish) egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar (apparently this is what gives snickerdoodles that snickerdoodley taste!)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 & 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • TOPPING: 1/4 cup sugar, 1 teaspoon cinnamon. Mix ’em together and set aside for later. 🙂
  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees and grease your baking sheets or line them with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, take your room-temp butter (or cold butter that you nuked in the microwave) and cream in with a hand-held mixer or standing mixer with paddle attachment for about a minute on medium speed.
  3. When it’s nice and smooth, add it the sugar until it’s good and fluffy.
  4. Mix in egg and vanilla, scraping down sides as needed. Set aside.
  5. In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, cream of tartar, salt, & cinnamon.
  6. With the mixer set on medium, add the dry ingredients to the wet slowly. The dough will be thick (and maybe a bit piecey, if that makes sense). You might have to mix by hand from this point on.
  7. Take about 1 & 1/2 tablespoons of dough, rolling them into balls and rolling them in the cinnamon-sugar dust. You can even sprinkle the leftover on top, if you want!
  8. Bake cookies for about 11-12 minutes. They will look undone, but will firm up as they cool. Right after you pull them out, press down on them with the back of a spoon to deflate them a bit. Let them cool for 10 minutes on the baking sheet before moving them to a cooling rack or plate.
  9. Enjoy!

cookiesheetshot

(Ignore the funky-lookin’ cookie sheet)

Edit Snickerdoodle IMG

Link to original recipe here.

DMCA.com

Leave a Reply

