Single-Serve Angel Food Cake

Today, I woke up, and it was Wednesday!

I love Wednesdays. I don’t know about you, but it’s that one odd day of the week that I just plain like. I like Fridays & Saturdays just as much as the next guy, but Wednesday was always spaghetti n’ meatballs day at school…

Okay, random. 

Nah, I just always felt that it was like, “Yay! Half way to the weekend! Whoopee!”

Image

Since I woke up in a good mood, I decided today was baking day. 

Do I have too much time on my hands? Maybe.

I need to go to the library!

Anywhoo, somehow my mind fixed on angel food cake. I always remembered angel food as so fluff and so light. It always had this light, airy frosting spread between the layers and these perfect little red strawberries on top.

But it was always store-bought. 

And as my 7-year-old cousin so eloquently put, “If it’s not homemade, it’s crap.”

But all of the recipes called for bajillions of egg whites and special pans and crazy-long cooling times.

Too far, man. Too far.

Image

Until I came across a recipe for a single-serve (not mug!) angel food cake.

It was like the heavens opened up and the clouds were made of cake!

Basically, for this recipe, you prepare the dry ingredients (enough for eight of the little cakes!) scoop up the amount you need for the one, and throw in a beaten egg white, some sugar, and a drop of lemon juice in a greased & sugared ramekin. Bake at 350 and in 20 short minutes you’ve got yourself a completely guilt-free dessert!

Image

I’m in love!

I mentioned a sugared ramekin–once you grease the ramekin, you add a spoonful of sugar to coat the interior. It helps the angel food cake rise & become fluffy! Plus, once it’s done, it forms this deliciously sweet crust of golden-brown sugar.

Let’s get to it!

What you’ll need…

For the Mix:

  • 1 Cup Cake Flour (I use Swan’s Down as a cake flour. Best results!)
  • 1 Cup Powdered Sugar
  • 1 Teaspoon Salt

For the individual cake:

  • 1 Large Egg White
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Lemon Juice
  • 1 Tablespoon Sugar
  1. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together the cake flour, powdered sugar, and salt. Scoop out 1/4 cup of the mixture for the cake and put the rest of the mixture in an air-tight bag. Keep refrigerated.
  2. Preheat oven to 350.
  3. In a separate bowl, beat the egg white, sugar, and lemon juice until stiff peaks form.
  4. Gently fold in the flour mixture.
  5. Grease a ramekin. Put a spoonful of sugar in and coat the interior evenly (this step cannot be omitted). Tap out excess.
  6. Fill the ramekin with the batter, about 3/4 full.
  7. Bake for 20 minutes.
  8. Once done, let cool on it’s side to set for 10 minutes, or else the cake will collapse.
  9. Top with fresh berries and whipped frosting. Enjoy!

Image

Image

DMCA.com

7 thoughts on “Single-Serve Angel Food Cake

  1. This looks delicious and is the exact guilt free treat I’m in need of to help get rid of those unncessary cravings for a donut, roll, or something with an obscene amount of jelly on it!

    Like

    • Hi April! Sorry it took me a bit to reply to this, but, to answer your question, the ramekin literally needs to be resting on its side–it helps the cake settle while it cools so it comes out in one piece. Thank you!

      Like

      • I made them again today….8 of them in fact. And I still don’t get the sideways thing but I did it and it worked! When I made one last time I did it upside down and it did not fall or anything either. Do you know what this works?

        Like

      • I’m so glad it worked! And I couldn’t tell you why that works–I know when making a full-sized angel food cake, you need to let it rest upside-down in the fridge while it cools, so I guess the same principles apply, right? 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

