Sweet Life Bites Weekly #3

sweetlifebiteweekly3

Good morning! 😀

This week’s addition of SLBW is coming to you bright & early!

Why, you ask?

Because in a short time, my family and I will be setting off to meet up with some relatives, cousins and the like. Sort of a weekend trip, you might say. I’m excited to see them, though, because they’re the side of the family we don’t see a whole lot of, so when we do, there’s a lot of catching up to do. As in, we probably will talk non-stop the entire time we’re with them. 🙂

Enough of a preface, I’d say–let’s get into it! 

Song of the Week: All I Want by Kodaline. (See? I told you there’d be some variety! 😉 ) I was browsing through the top charts on iTunes the other night, looking for new songs, when I stumbled across the TFIOS movie soundtrack. And I started listening, even though the description of the soundtrack calls it a tear-jerker. Good job, Grace. This song just…it pulls at your heartstrings! It’s a little different, but I think it’s beautiful. (My dad called it whiny 😉 ).

Food of the Week: A bowl of fresh fruit & granola for breakfast. I don’t know why I feel the need to explain this, but I do, so I will. Since I’ve started really running (as in, 5 days a week–next week’s a recovery week! Woot woot!), I’ve wanted to eat healthier. Not that I was particularly unhealthy before, but I just didn’t want all that running and exercise to go to waste, you know? Summer fruit is the bomb, too, so of course I’m gonna eat a truckload of it before summer’s over. I’ll usually cut up some strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, and occasionally some cantaloupe and top it with 1/4 cup of this granola. It’s got protein (great for running) and dark chocolate. 🙂 Yes, please!

foodweek3

Book of the Week: This is a bit of an odd one since I haven’t actually read it yet…but I’m going to, once I get my hands on it! It is the third and final book in the Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo, Ruin and Rising. I read the first two in the series last year at this time and oh my goodness gracious are they fantastic. There’s these h-u-g-e plot twists that you just don’t see coming, the setting and world is pretty flippin’ fabulous (tzar-punk?), the characters are really developed and deep, and it’s all around an amazing book. Seriously. 😀 I need to go to the library!

grisha trilogy

Blog of the Week: Jennypurr Yet another beauty blog, I know, I know, but her blog is just fun to read! I love the way she lays out her pictures, her writing is crisp and clean, the content is great–what’s not to like? I stumbled across a blog post the other day on Bloglovin on the “popular posts” page that had virtually no punctuation other than a period with writing that was allllll over the place. It made me appreciate all of the wonderfully written blogs out there, like Jennypurr. 🙂

Lipstick of the Week: Neutrogena MoistureSmooth Color Stick in Fresh Papaya. It’s a mouthful of a name, I know, but it’s so easy to wear. The color is a nice shimmery-coral that is pretty much universally flattering, the formula is incredible (I saw a review that described them as the “sweatpants of lip colors”–I agree!), and they smell really good. Yay! And it’s from the drugstore. Woot woot!

NeutrogenaLipCrayon

Posts this Week: Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecake Bars These are delicious. I saw the recipe on Bakerella on Monday and made them on Thursday. Goodness. Graham cracker crust + cheesecake + chocolate ganache + peanut butter cups = heaven. 😀

pbcupcheesecake13

Weekly Happenings: We have this storeroom in our basement that is about the size of a small (I mean small) room. And unlike the rest of our basement, it is not finished. We use it to house a bunch of crapola we don’t need cluttering the upstairs, you know, boxes of photos, decorations, spare furniture and the like.

It badly was in need of a deep-cleaning and reorganization.

So that’s what I did this week.

And while I was cleaning I found some…erm…interesting things. Like a box of old art projects that had a paper mache witch mask glaring at me through the plastic. Or a tupperware full of books I didn’t know existed. Maybe a crate three layers deep of old CDs? Or how about seven-year old horse-shaped pinatas giving me the stink eye from the corner? And arguably the weirdest yet, a miniature guillotine. :/

Fun times, right?

That’s been my project this week, and when I’ve not been dealing with all of that, I’ve been running (yesterday morning my average pace for 3.3 miles was 8’41”–my fastest ever!), baking (peanut butter cup cheesecake bars?), and reading lots and lots of posts on Bloglovin. It’s the most-used app on my phone. 😉

It’s been a great week so far, and I hope yours has been too! 😀

~ Grace

Leave a Reply

