Sweet Life Bites Weekly #4

sweetlifebiteweekly4

Goooooooooood morning! 

Time for yet another edition of Sweet Life Bites Weekly! Shall we? 😉

Song of the Week: I have two songs this week, but they’re both by the same artist, so I’m allowing it. It’s my blog, after all…anyway, the songs are “Willow” and “Drop Your Guard”, both by Jasmine Thompson. This girl’s voice gives me chills! And these songs are so beautiful in their own ways that I couldn’t just choose one…*sigh*. She’s got a YouTube channel where she posts covers and original songs alike, and you can buy them on iTunes, Amazon, and Google Play, too. I’ve listened to both of these songs on repeat for the last week! Please. Just listen! 🙂

Food of the Week: These bad boys…otherwise known as peanut butter cup cheesecake bars. I’ve made these twice since I posted them last week! The first time they were for a graduation party we were going to. I set them out on the food table (mind you, the recipe makes around 20 bars!), and within ten minutes they were gone. Not even a graham crackery crumb left. :O I also made them again for the little 4th of July gathering we had yesterday. I didn’t have heavy cream when I was making the ganache, so they were a little on the soupy side, but it was still all anybody could talk about when the desserts came out. 😀 Success! Please make them. You will most definitely not regret it. Although your waistline might. 😉

pbcupcheesecake9

Book of the Week: This week’s book I’ve actually read ;). And for the record, I finished Ruin and Rising (last week’s book) within a matter of hours after posting–and it was amazing! So there. 🙂 The book for this week is Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid, and it is something special, lemme tell ya. This book is about this teenage girl named Leila, who’s driving north on this big roadtrip to see the Northern Lights, and on the way there, she meets these kids. Erm, teenagers. Whatever. Each are completely different, with their own backgrounds and problems and lives, but the thing that ties them together is this girl named Leila, who tends to crash (in one case, literally) into their lives in her bright red car. It’s told in a series of parts, and you’re given a little back story to each character before Leila comes crashing in. And when she does, for no reason at all, she’ll help them, each in different ways. She always leaves these kids better than when she found them. In the book, she seems like such an old soul, like someone who’s got her life figured out and her head screwed on straight, although you never hear much about her home life or specifically why she’s driving north, until the final part of the book where it’s about her. And then (spoiler alert) you realize that she’s got no memories of her past, she doesn’t know who she is, and the Northern Lights were a scrap of memory she hoped would trigger more. You’ll have to read the book to hear her story, but I’ll tell you a bit about the end, which is one of the sweetest I’ve ever read. It has to do with her aunt smiling at Leila (which is the exact same way her mother used to smile at her :’) ), and one of the boys she helped coming back to find her. 😀 It was such a good book. Please read it.

lets-get-lost-adi-alsaid

Blog of the Week: Gal Meets Glam I love this blog! If you haven’t heard of it, a girl named Julia Engel runs it, and she posts these amazing pictures of the outfits she wears a couple of times a week. Let me tell you, there are no sweat pants and Uggs here! Be it a breezy blouse she wears while in Cabo or a festive dress for the 4th of July, every outfit is just plain fabulous. If you’re a fashion junkie, a beauty junkie, or simply in need of some outfit inspiration (all three of which I am guilty of!), you will definitely enjoy this blog.

Lippie of the Week: The Trish McEvoy Beauty Booster SPF 15 Lip Gloss in “Brightening Pink”. It’s a mouthful–what is it with these product names? 🙂 I’ve really enjoyed just having this particular gloss in my bag. It’s just enough color to perk up your complexion without being overwhelming and feels super-duper comfortable. It’s even pretty hydrating! I’ve also liked topping other lipsticks with this to add a bit of glossiness. ❤ Oh, lip products. What would I do without you? 🙂 (Sorry for the teeny picture. It’s all I could find!)

389980

 

Posts this Week: Two very patriotic recipes were posted this week, on the same day, too! These Patriotic Jello Cups and this Patriotic Fruit Salad. I know the 4th was yesterday, but you could probably make either of these for Memorial Day, Veterans Day, or Flag Day. 🙂 Check ’em out!

fruitflag9

4thjello4

Weekly Happenings: I feel like time goes at different speeds. Sometimes I feel like I’m trudging through molasses while everyday feels like an eternity. Sometimes, it moves at a comfortable pace.

And then there are times like now, where I feel like I’m barely keeping up! Gah!

This is my fourth edition of SLBW. Fourth. That means I’ve been doing these for almost a month. :O I’ve started to tell time by when I have to start planning these posts–is that weird? 🙂

This past couple of days I’ve been rushing around the kitchen with a whisk and a camera at the ready, trying to both bake and photograph the recipes for the 4th of July. I made an entire cake (waaaay too hard to frost. Trust me, stick to cupcakes!), cheesecake bars, the jello cups, and a fruit salad. Funny story about the cheesecake bars. See, when I was making the ganache, I thought I was set on heavy cream–I mean, we had three, count ’em, three jugs of it in the fridge.

All of them were spoiled.

So many chunks…*shudders*.

I don’t know how. I mean, one of them expired on May 30th…but the other two were supposed to be good until July 6th and 17th! What?

So I ended up having to use 2% milk, which didn’t set right, which in turn made for some slightly-soupy-albeit-delicious cheesecake bars. 😀 We still ate ’em. They were still fabulous.

Moral of the story: always check to make sure your heavy cream is not, in fact, curdled, despite what the expiration date says. 😉

That was this week’s edition of SLWB! I hope you enjoyed! 😀

Leave a Reply

Sweet Life Bites Weekly #4

sweetlifebiteweekly4

Goooooooooood morning! 

Time for yet another edition of Sweet Life Bites Weekly! Shall we? 😉

Song of the Week: I have two songs this week, but they’re both by the same artist, so I’m allowing it. It’s my blog, after all…anyway, the songs are “Willow” and “Drop Your Guard”, both by Jasmine Thompson. This girl’s voice gives me chills! And these songs are so beautiful in their own ways that I couldn’t just choose one…*sigh*. She’s got a YouTube channel where she posts covers and original songs alike, and you can buy them on iTunes, Amazon, and Google Play, too. I’ve listened to both of these songs on repeat for the last week! Please. Just listen! 🙂

Food of the Week: These bad boys…otherwise known as peanut butter cup cheesecake bars. I’ve made these twice since I posted them last week! The first time they were for a graduation party we were going to. I set them out on the food table (mind you, the recipe makes around 20 bars!), and within ten minutes they were gone. Not even a graham crackery crumb left. :O I also made them again for the little 4th of July gathering we had yesterday. I didn’t have heavy cream when I was making the ganache, so they were a little on the soupy side, but it was still all anybody could talk about when the desserts came out. 😀 Success! Please make them. You will most definitely not regret it. Although your waistline might. 😉

pbcupcheesecake9

Book of the Week: This week’s book I’ve actually read ;). And for the record, I finished Ruin and Rising (last week’s book) within a matter of hours after posting–and it was amazing! So there. 🙂 The book for this week is Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid, and it is something special, lemme tell ya. This book is about this teenage girl named Leila, who’s driving north on this big roadtrip to see the Northern Lights, and on the way there, she meets these kids. Erm, teenagers. Whatever. Each are completely different, with their own backgrounds and problems and lives, but the thing that ties them together is this girl named Leila, who tends to crash (in one case, literally) into their lives in her bright red car. It’s told in a series of parts, and you’re given a little back story to each character before Leila comes crashing in. And when she does, for no reason at all, she’ll help them, each in different ways. She always leaves these kids better than when she found them. In the book, she seems like such an old soul, like someone who’s got her life figured out and her head screwed on straight, although you never hear much about her home life or specifically why she’s driving north, until the final part of the book where it’s about her. And then (spoiler alert) you realize that she’s got no memories of her past, she doesn’t know who she is, and the Northern Lights were a scrap of memory she hoped would trigger more. You’ll have to read the book to hear her story, but I’ll tell you a bit about the end, which is one of the sweetest I’ve ever read. It has to do with her aunt smiling at Leila (which is the exact same way her mother used to smile at her :’) ), and one of the boys she helped coming back to find her. 😀 It was such a good book. Please read it.

lets-get-lost-adi-alsaid

Blog of the Week: Gal Meets Glam I love this blog! If you haven’t heard of it, a girl named Julia Engel runs it, and she posts these amazing pictures of the outfits she wears a couple of times a week. Let me tell you, there are no sweat pants and Uggs here! Be it a breezy blouse she wears while in Cabo or a festive dress for the 4th of July, every outfit is just plain fabulous. If you’re a fashion junkie, a beauty junkie, or simply in need of some outfit inspiration (all three of which I am guilty of!), you will definitely enjoy this blog.

Lippie of the Week: The Trish McEvoy Beauty Booster SPF 15 Lip Gloss in “Brightening Pink”. It’s a mouthful–what is it with these product names? 🙂 I’ve really enjoyed just having this particular gloss in my bag. It’s just enough color to perk up your complexion without being overwhelming and feels super-duper comfortable. It’s even pretty hydrating! I’ve also liked topping other lipsticks with this to add a bit of glossiness. ❤ Oh, lip products. What would I do without you? 🙂 (Sorry for the teeny picture. It’s all I could find!)

389980

 

Posts this Week: Two very patriotic recipes were posted this week, on the same day, too! These Patriotic Jello Cups and this Patriotic Fruit Salad. I know the 4th was yesterday, but you could probably make either of these for Memorial Day, Veterans Day, or Flag Day. 🙂 Check ’em out!

fruitflag9

4thjello4

Weekly Happenings: I feel like time goes at different speeds. Sometimes I feel like I’m trudging through molasses while everyday feels like an eternity. Sometimes, it moves at a comfortable pace.

And then there are times like now, where I feel like I’m barely keeping up! Gah!

This is my fourth edition of SLBW. Fourth. That means I’ve been doing these for almost a month. :O I’ve started to tell time by when I have to start planning these posts–is that weird? 🙂

This past couple of days I’ve been rushing around the kitchen with a whisk and a camera at the ready, trying to both bake and photograph the recipes for the 4th of July. I made an entire cake (waaaay too hard to frost. Trust me, stick to cupcakes!), cheesecake bars, the jello cups, and a fruit salad. Funny story about the cheesecake bars. See, when I was making the ganache, I thought I was set on heavy cream–I mean, we had three, count ’em, three jugs of it in the fridge.

All of them were spoiled.

So many chunks…*shudders*.

I don’t know how. I mean, one of them expired on May 30th…but the other two were supposed to be good until July 6th and 17th! What?

So I ended up having to use 2% milk, which didn’t set right, which in turn made for some slightly-soupy-albeit-delicious cheesecake bars. 😀 We still ate ’em. They were still fabulous.

Moral of the story: always check to make sure your heavy cream is not, in fact, curdled, despite what the expiration date says. 😉

That was this week’s edition of SLWB! I hope you enjoyed! 😀

Leave a Reply

