Sweet Life Bites Weekly #5

sweetlifebiteweekly5

Oh, who doesn’t love a rainy Saturday?

Me!

I guess it’s good blogging weather and all that…but still…;)

Let’s get into the fifth edition of SLBW!

Song of the Week: Weight of Living Pt. 1 (Albatross) by Bastille. C’mon, you knew they were going to come back! I was pretty heavily obsessed with this song back in April, and it came on my playlist the other day and I fell right back in love with it. ❤ Gosh, if Dan Smith (the leader singer in Bastille) could sing me the phone book, it would probably be a favorite song of mine. Something about his voice is just so darn perfect! And this song, too–it’s based on a poem by Samuel Coleridge called The Rime of the Ancient Mariner, which is a pretty heavy poem to be made into such an amazing song. I feel like all of Bastille’s lyrics are so far above all of the run-of-the-mill pop lyrics in most songs–yet another reason why I can’t get enough of this band! Enough rambling from me. Listen to the song! 😀

Food of the Week: Carnitas. We had carnitas for dinner last Sunday, and I have been enjoying the leftovers all week. It’s my sister’s absolute favorite food (aside from bacon, of course!), and for good reason, too! For those of you who are wondering what the heck carnitas are, it’s pork shoulder that’s been shredded and cooked in the oven for a couple of hours until it gets all tender and nice and crispy. You eat it in a tortilla like a taco. My grandma is from Mexico, so when we do Mexican food, it’s legit–no Taco Bell here! I’ve been eating the leftover meat in wraps for lunch these past couple of days. Goodness, it’s delicious!  😀

carnita

Image here

Book of the Week: Skink No Surrender by Carl Hiaasen. This book is one that I whipped through in one day–it’s one of those books where you just want to know how it ends! The book is centered around this 14-year-old kid named Richard, who’s rebellious cousin has run away again, this time with a guy she met online, under the premise that she was going to early orientation for a boarding school. When the police are unable to find where she’s gone, Richard and this man he’s met named Skink (hence the title) go off to find her. I guess Skink has appeared in other books by the author, and he is an..erm…interesting character. 😉  This “old fart”, as he’s called in the book, is an veteran-turned-governor-turned-homeless man-turned part-time wildlife conservationist who clips buzzard beaks to his beard and wears a shower cap at all times and is supposedly dead. Anyway, he helps Richard track down his cousin and…I won’t spoil any more! The book has a really good pace, just fast enough to make you feel like you can’t put the book down but not so fast that you can predict the ending 20 pages in. It was really good. If you see it, I definitely recommend checking it out!

skinknosurrender

Blog of the Week: Maskcara When I open my Bloglovin and see that a new post from Maskcara is up, it’s the almost always the first one I click on–I love her posts. It’s another beauty blog, I know–you’re just gonna have to get used to that. 🙂 Although, not every single post of hers is beauty related. Her Friday Favorites are some of my favorite posts to read, and her other posts are super helpful when it comes to makeup, too! It’s an adorable blog, totally worth checking out. 😀

Lippie of the Week: Goodness, I have fallen in love with the Clinique Chubby Stick in #13, “Mighty Mimosa”. It is the most beautiful corally-pink shade you will ever find, plus the most comfortable formula on the planet. It makes your lips look so smooth and even. It’s got a bit of shimmer to make it shiny without being metallic or gritty, and the shade is just so flattering on absolutely everyone. Gah. Do yourself a favor and at least try it on the next time you’re in Sephora (or Ulta, or Bluemercury, or whatever! 🙂 ). And when you do, you will understand my love of this particular lippie. ❤

chubbystick

Posts this Week: Just one little post (Cinnamon BlueberryMini Muffins), but it’s an adorable one at that. I’ve eaten two of these muffins for breakfast before a run every morning. Just perfect. 🙂

bbmuffin7

Weekly Happenings (A.K.A. random video time!): Alrighty, so this week has been rather uneventful, but I do have quite the video to share with you, if you haven’t seen this already. My friend Lizzardbacon (y’know, the one who introduced me to puppy chow?) texted me the other day telling me to look up this video she’d seen, called “29 Celebrity Impression, 1 Original Song”. I didn’t expect much, but when I went to watch it…it is mind-blowing! This guy is spot-on with every impression he does (even Britney Spears!). Everyone I’ve shown it to has had the same blown-away reaction. It helps that the song is very catchy, too! Although, I do wonder how long it took for this guy to come up with all of these impressions–with over 7 millions YouTube views already, I guess it was worth it!

Take 3 minutes and 38 seconds out of your day to watch this. Trust me. It’s worth the watch!

Have a good week, guys! 😀

Leave a Reply

Sweet Life Bites Weekly #5

sweetlifebiteweekly5

Oh, who doesn’t love a rainy Saturday?

Me!

I guess it’s good blogging weather and all that…but still…;)

Let’s get into the fifth edition of SLBW!

Song of the Week: Weight of Living Pt. 1 (Albatross) by Bastille. C’mon, you knew they were going to come back! I was pretty heavily obsessed with this song back in April, and it came on my playlist the other day and I fell right back in love with it. ❤ Gosh, if Dan Smith (the leader singer in Bastille) could sing me the phone book, it would probably be a favorite song of mine. Something about his voice is just so darn perfect! And this song, too–it’s based on a poem by Samuel Coleridge called The Rime of the Ancient Mariner, which is a pretty heavy poem to be made into such an amazing song. I feel like all of Bastille’s lyrics are so far above all of the run-of-the-mill pop lyrics in most songs–yet another reason why I can’t get enough of this band! Enough rambling from me. Listen to the song! 😀

Food of the Week: Carnitas. We had carnitas for dinner last Sunday, and I have been enjoying the leftovers all week. It’s my sister’s absolute favorite food (aside from bacon, of course!), and for good reason, too! For those of you who are wondering what the heck carnitas are, it’s pork shoulder that’s been shredded and cooked in the oven for a couple of hours until it gets all tender and nice and crispy. You eat it in a tortilla like a taco. My grandma is from Mexico, so when we do Mexican food, it’s legit–no Taco Bell here! I’ve been eating the leftover meat in wraps for lunch these past couple of days. Goodness, it’s delicious!  😀

carnita

Image here

Book of the Week: Skink No Surrender by Carl Hiaasen. This book is one that I whipped through in one day–it’s one of those books where you just want to know how it ends! The book is centered around this 14-year-old kid named Richard, who’s rebellious cousin has run away again, this time with a guy she met online, under the premise that she was going to early orientation for a boarding school. When the police are unable to find where she’s gone, Richard and this man he’s met named Skink (hence the title) go off to find her. I guess Skink has appeared in other books by the author, and he is an..erm…interesting character. 😉  This “old fart”, as he’s called in the book, is an veteran-turned-governor-turned-homeless man-turned part-time wildlife conservationist who clips buzzard beaks to his beard and wears a shower cap at all times and is supposedly dead. Anyway, he helps Richard track down his cousin and…I won’t spoil any more! The book has a really good pace, just fast enough to make you feel like you can’t put the book down but not so fast that you can predict the ending 20 pages in. It was really good. If you see it, I definitely recommend checking it out!

skinknosurrender

Blog of the Week: Maskcara When I open my Bloglovin and see that a new post from Maskcara is up, it’s the almost always the first one I click on–I love her posts. It’s another beauty blog, I know–you’re just gonna have to get used to that. 🙂 Although, not every single post of hers is beauty related. Her Friday Favorites are some of my favorite posts to read, and her other posts are super helpful when it comes to makeup, too! It’s an adorable blog, totally worth checking out. 😀

Lippie of the Week: Goodness, I have fallen in love with the Clinique Chubby Stick in #13, “Mighty Mimosa”. It is the most beautiful corally-pink shade you will ever find, plus the most comfortable formula on the planet. It makes your lips look so smooth and even. It’s got a bit of shimmer to make it shiny without being metallic or gritty, and the shade is just so flattering on absolutely everyone. Gah. Do yourself a favor and at least try it on the next time you’re in Sephora (or Ulta, or Bluemercury, or whatever! 🙂 ). And when you do, you will understand my love of this particular lippie. ❤

chubbystick

Posts this Week: Just one little post (Cinnamon BlueberryMini Muffins), but it’s an adorable one at that. I’ve eaten two of these muffins for breakfast before a run every morning. Just perfect. 🙂

bbmuffin7

Weekly Happenings (A.K.A. random video time!): Alrighty, so this week has been rather uneventful, but I do have quite the video to share with you, if you haven’t seen this already. My friend Lizzardbacon (y’know, the one who introduced me to puppy chow?) texted me the other day telling me to look up this video she’d seen, called “29 Celebrity Impression, 1 Original Song”. I didn’t expect much, but when I went to watch it…it is mind-blowing! This guy is spot-on with every impression he does (even Britney Spears!). Everyone I’ve shown it to has had the same blown-away reaction. It helps that the song is very catchy, too! Although, I do wonder how long it took for this guy to come up with all of these impressions–with over 7 millions YouTube views already, I guess it was worth it!

Take 3 minutes and 38 seconds out of your day to watch this. Trust me. It’s worth the watch!

Have a good week, guys! 😀

Leave a Reply

