Lemon Flower Tarts

lemonflowerheader

Happy Friday, everybody!

I know, I know, I’ve been lazy this week. My last post was last week’s SLBW, and I’m putting up the next one tomorrow… :O Now, I don’t really have an excuse…but maybe these adorable little tarts will change your mind?

lemonflower6

These sunny little tarts are bursting with lemony goodness encased in a buttery, flaky pastry. They’re pretty darn simple to make, especially if you use store-bought lemon curd and pastry, and the presentation is unbeatable! Bring these to any summer get-together and they are sure to be a hit. 🙂

I also made them with one of my best buddies (Anna :D), which is why the set up is a little different–she wasn’t even fazed when I complimented her pretty (and photogenic!) countertop. I mean, have you seen mine? All black and green and grey granite. 😉

lemonflower5

Moving on. 

Like I said, you use store bought pastry and lemon curd, and these take no time at all. My friend and I went half way and bought premade pie crusts and made the curd ourselves. I’ll include how to make the curd in the recipe (because believe me when I say you will want to eat it all with a spoon, even if it is a little labor-intensive). 😀 And making the little flower pastry cups was simpler than simple–you stamp out your flower shapes with a cookie cutter in the pie crusts, fit ’em in a muffin tin, and bake ’em til they’re golden. 😉 Perfection.

lemonflower2I feel like these are the kind of things you would have at a tea party with little finger sandwiches and the like. They’re so…I don’t know, sophisticated-looking! They make me feel fancy. 🙂

lemonflower4

Enough rambling from me–let’s get to it!

What you’ll need…

For the pastry:

  • 1 box of premade pie crusts
  • 1 flower-shaped cookie cutter

For the lemon curd***:

  • 3 lemons
  • 1 & 1/2 c. granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c. (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/2 c. lemon juice
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  1. Preheat oven to 425. Grease a muffin pan and set aside.
  2. Take the lemons and zest all of them, being careful to avoid the white pith.
  3. Roll out the premade pie crust. Stamp out flower shapes in the dough and place inside the muffin tin so that the petals form a little cup-like shape.
  4. Place the pan in the oven for 10-12 minutes, or until the pastry is golden. Set aside to cool.
  5. Taking the lemon zest and sugar, pulse together in a food processor until the zest and sugar are well-combined.
  6. Using a stand mixer with a paddle attachment, beat the butter until creamy and then add in the lemon-sugar mixture, beating until combined.
  7. Add in the eggs one at a time, followed by the lemon juice and salt. Beat until everything is smooth.
  8. Pour the mixture in a medium-sized saucepan. Cook over low heat for 15-20 minutes, or until mixture is translucent and thick, stirring constantly.
  9. Once the lemon curd reaches the desired texture, remove from heat and allow to cool. Spoon about a tablespoon into the center of each pastry cup. Top with powdered sugar.
  10. Enjoy! 😀

lemonflower

***Feel free to use store-bought lemon curd in place of what’s listed. If you choose to, skip steps 5-8. 

Original lemon curd recipe here

 

 

DMCA.com
 

Leave a Reply

