Sweet Life Bites Weekly #6

sweetlifebiteweekly6

It’s a Saturday night. 

It’s mid-July. 

I have chocolate. 

Life is good!

Let’s get into SLBW numero seis, shall we? 

Song of the Week: Something I Need by One Republic. I’m not quite sure how this song flew under the radar for so long, considering a) that it came out last summer and b) another song on the album (Counting Stars) has been waaaaaay overplayed…but it had somehow managed to do so, and it came on Pandora during a run recently, and now I love it. ❤ Dan Smith’s voice may take first place, but Ryan Tedder’s is a very close second…this song is awesome. You’ll like it. 🙂

Food of the Week: Do you ever try to eat apples and peanut butter and then the apples won’t pick up the peanut butter properly and you get too much on one and not enough on the next one and it never quite works out?

No? Just me?

Alrighty then.

Anyways, that always happens to me, unless I melt the peanut butter. And then magic happens. It gets super creamy, and because it’s melted, it coats each slice like a dream–perfect apple-to-peanut butter ratio. I love eating this as a post-run snack or as an easy breakfast before a run. Try it the next time you’re feeling snacky–it’ll change the way you eat peanut butter. 😀

Apple-and-Peanut-Butter

 

Book of the Week: Counting by 7’s by Holly Goldberg Sloan is a book I am currently in the middle of–and am loving! I was over at my friend Lizzardbacon’s house and we were talking books (like one does), and she brought up this particular book and demanded I read it. (Alright, maybe demanded is a little harsh…you get the point. She really wanted me to read it 😉 ) Boy, is it good…but for reasons different than you’d probably think. It isn’t bursting with action, or magic and wizards, or feature an epic romance that ends in tragedy and requires multiple packs of tissues. No, it isn’t any of those. It’s about a girl named Willow who’s a little different than most. Vague as that may be, the story is written in such a way to make you think, and is told from this interesting perspective that is completely young and innocent, but also very wise and with an old-soul kinda vibe. It’s getting interesting, and starts off with a car crash (you know it’s gonna be good when it starts out like that!), so I’m very excited to finish it. Check it out!

book

Blog of the WeekJoy the Baker Goodness gracious, have I enjoyed this blog! Even if you’ve only begun to explore the food blog world, you’ll have heard of this particular blog. Joy’s style of writing has me in awe–it’s hilarious, well-written, the perfect length (how???), and overall fabulous. I want to make every single recipe she’s posted, and her pictures, too…:O Can you say gorgeous? Her blog is a foodie’s dream! 

Lippie of the Week: MAC Lipstick in Milan Mode (Lustre). Oh. My. Goodness. This color looks pretty scary in the tube. I know. But the thing about MAC’s lustre finish is that it’s sheer but you can build it up. It’s also shimmery, and I know some of you are probably fervently shaking your heads “no”, but trust me–this is the kind of shimmer that just makes your lips look full and almost glossy. Not metallic in the slightest. And because of the somewhat sheer pigmentation, it really shifts to suit your undertones; while it looks more cooler-toned in the tube, on me, it’s a rather warm-toned fuschia. Gah. I love this! 

milan mode

Posts this Week: Just one–these adorable little lemon flower tarts that are irresistible with a capital “I”! The combination of sweet and tangy lemon curd and flaky, buttery pastry is just too good. Lemon lovers, rejoice! 😀 

lemonflower4

Weekly Happenings: Alrighty, this is less of a “this weekly happening” and more of a “next weekly happening”. 

What?

Lemme explain. 

So you see that little box in the sidebar to the left? The countdown? 

That countdown is the number of days until SGL 1st birthday. 

Less than a week, people! 

It’s blowing my mind that it’s been a whole year since I started this blog (almost!). Does it feel like it’s been an entire year since SGL got started? Last summer doesn’t feel like it was all that long ago, but when you think about Easter…

Days are long, years are short. :O

Anywho, to wrap up this ramble, I wanna ask if there’s anything you guys want to see (in relation to SGL birthday?). Cupcakes, a cake, pie, a stat compilation, a post recap, etc.

Maybe I’ll do a birthday week and post every day leading up to July 26th! 

Yes? No? Something entirely different?

Leave a comment below–I love hearing from you guys!

Have a great rest of your weekend! 😀

Leave a Reply

Sweet Life Bites Weekly #6

sweetlifebiteweekly6

It’s a Saturday night.

It’s mid-July.

I have chocolate.

Life is good!

Let’s get into SLBW numero seis, shall we?

Song of the Week: Something I Need by One Republic. I’m not quite sure how this song flew under the radar for so long, considering a) that it came out last summer and b) another song on the album (Counting Stars) has been waaaaaay overplayed…but it had somehow managed to do so, and it came on Pandora during a run recently, and now I love it. ❤ Dan Smith’s voice may take first place, but Ryan Tedder’s is a very close second…this song is awesome. You’ll like it. 🙂

Food of the Week: Do you ever try to eat apples and peanut butter and then the apples won’t pick up the peanut butter properly and you get too much on one and not enough on the next one and it never quite works out?

No? Just me?

Alrighty then.

Anyways, that always happens to me, unless I melt the peanut butter. And then magic happens. It gets super creamy, and because it’s melted, it coats each slice like a dream–perfect apple-to-peanut butter ratio. I love eating this as a post-run snack or as an easy breakfast before a run. Try it the next time you’re feeling snacky–it’ll change the way you eat peanut butter. 😀

Apple-and-Peanut-Butter

 

Book of the Week: Counting by 7’s by Holly Goldberg Sloan is a book I am currently in the middle of–and am loving! I was over at my friend Lizzardbacon’s house and we were talking books (like one does), and she brought up this particular book and demanded I read it. (Alright, maybe demanded is a little harsh…you get the point. She really wanted me to read it 😉 ) Boy, is it good…but for reasons different than you’d probably think. It isn’t bursting with action, or magic and wizards, or feature an epic romance that ends in tragedy and requires multiple packs of tissues. No, it isn’t any of those. It’s about a girl named Willow who’s a little different than most. Vague as that may be, the story is written in such a way to make you think, and is told from this interesting perspective that is completely young and innocent, but also very wise and with an old-soul kinda vibe. It’s getting interesting, and starts off with a car crash (you know it’s gonna be good when it starts out like that!), so I’m very excited to finish it. Check it out!

book

Blog of the WeekJoy the Baker Goodness gracious, have I enjoyed this blog! Even if you’ve only begun to explore the food blog world, you’ll have heard of this particular blog. Joy’s style of writing has me in awe–it’s hilarious, well-written, the perfect length (how???), and overall fabulous. I want to make every single recipe she’s posted, and her pictures, too…:O Can you say gorgeous? Her blog is a foodie’s dream!

Lippie of the Week: MAC Lipstick in Milan Mode (Lustre). Oh. My. Goodness. This color looks pretty scary in the tube. I know. But the thing about MAC’s lustre finish is that it’s sheer but you can build it up. It’s also shimmery, and I know some of you are probably fervently shaking your heads “no”, but trust me–this is the kind of shimmer that just makes your lips look full and almost glossy. Not metallic in the slightest. And because of the somewhat sheer pigmentation, it really shifts to suit your undertones; while it looks more cooler-toned in the tube, on me, it’s a rather warm-toned fuschia. Gah. I love this!

milan mode

Posts this Week: Just one–these adorable little lemon flower tarts that are irresistible with a capital “I”! The combination of sweet and tangy lemon curd and flaky, buttery pastry is just too good. Lemon lovers, rejoice! 😀

lemonflower4

Weekly Happenings: Alrighty, this is less of a “this weekly happening” and more of a “next weekly happening”.

What?

Lemme explain.

So you see that little box in the sidebar to the left? The countdown?

That countdown is the number of days until SGL 1st birthday.

Less than a week, people! 

It’s blowing my mind that it’s been a whole year since I started this blog (almost!). Does it feel like it’s been an entire year since SGL got started? Last summer doesn’t feel like it was all that long ago, but when you think about Easter…

Days are long, years are short. :O

Anywho, to wrap up this ramble, I wanna ask if there’s anything you guys want to see (in relation to SGL birthday?). Cupcakes, a cake, pie, a stat compilation, a post recap, etc.

Maybe I’ll do a birthday week and post every day leading up to July 26th!

Yes? No? Something entirely different?

Leave a comment below–I love hearing from you guys!

Have a great rest of your weekend! 😀

Leave a Reply

