A Short Rant on Summer Homework

I sit here with a slightly throbbing hand after just completing over five pages of history notes and reading about twenty-three pages of tiny text. I now can cross off one chapter from my list of summer homework, leaving two more chapters to read and take notes on; five themes to analyze and summarize; fifteen current events to find to go along with those themes; not to mention a lengthy book I’m supposed to read (I’m actually kind of excited about that)–oh, and there’s questions to go along with that, too. 

What exactly will I gain from all of this? 

That remains to be seen, but I’m guessing a healthy participation grade in class and a good grade on a test we’ll be taking the second week of school. 

Now, depending on who you are and where you go to school and what courses you’re taking, this may seem like nothing, or it may seem like a lot. Either way, the effectiveness of this method of summer homework seems to be questionable, at least in my eyes. 

Don’t get me wrong–I understand why it’s assigned and the arguments for it.

  1. It’s a harder course so there’s a larger workload, there’s more ground to cover, just can’t fit it all in, etc.
  2. It’ll give you a head start next year.
  3. Can’t let your brain get out of shape over the summer!
  4. It’s great preparation for college!

As sarcastic as those sound, I do understand that there’s legitimate reasoning and logic behind it. 

But. 

At the same time, people go to school for a reason–they can’t teach themselves. I will most likely forget most of what I read and took notes on in the space of a few days, if that. Reading something and scribbling down the main ideas and important figures and dates is not learning the information. If I’ve got questions, I’m going to Google it, click the first or second link, and go with it. I didn’t gain a new perspective on that time period, or really grasp the concepts in the chapters because all it is is black type on a white background. Wouldn’t it be better to maybe cover less content but really learn the information that we do cover throughout the school year? Quality vs. quanity? Ah, but that’s a different debate for a different day. šŸ˜›

Plus, to add insult to injury, it’s a gorgeous day outside, one that I’ve spent hunched over my desk in my room, lit by the light of a fluorescent bulb, trying to cram as much as I can because we’re leaving for vacation this weekend and I know I have to work all day for the next couple of days. Yes, I know I’ve had all summer to do this, but, between camps and family trips and working and doing everything you can’t do during the school year, y’know, like having a social life and blogging and being fifteen–there’s not a whole lot of time left for homework, is there? 

And I know this isn’t that big of an issue and that I’ve got a pretty darn amazing life that I wouldn’t trade for the world, but it’s something that kinda makes me frustrated.  #firstworldproblems

Welp. I guess it’s best to just get it done. In the mean time, though, I’d love to hear about how you guys are handling your summer homework (if you have any, that is–if you don’t, lucky duck!) and your thoughts on it. 

Enjoy your summer, folks! šŸ˜€

– Grace

 

One thought on “A Short Rant on Summer Homework

Leave a Reply

