Workout Smoothie

DSC_0394 DSC_0399I’ve read enough articles and had enough poor experiences to know the importance of pre-run and post-run fueling.

But at the same time, I’m also not one to just casually whip up an egg white frittata with mushroom and spinach and sun-dried tomato with a side of 18-grain homemade English muffin with sun butter and organic preserves. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

So a smoothie is what I like to call a happy medium. Tastes pretty good, is pretty good for ya, and is pretty darn easy to make. Plus, it can go both ways–either as a pre-run quick dose of energy, or a post-run recovery drink. Two birds with one stone, eh? (Although I think I’d be sick of it if I had it twice in one day!) 

Now, a strawberry banana smoothie might not be the *most* inventive recipe out there, but it’s a classic for a reason! Bananas are a superfood in their own right, hailed by runners for their potassium that somehow keeps side stitches and other cramps away while exercising. Pre-run smoothie perfection! They also are loved by foodies everywhere for the magical texture frozen banana takes on when blended. Creamy like soft serve ice cream, rich, and not overly banana-y, as it can be overpowering at times. Magical, I tell ya. 

Plus, if you’re realizing (like myself) that you and dairy just don’t go together, the banana can be in place of the yogurt base most smoothies have. Now, I don’t like to have to eat my smoothies with a spoon, so adding a half cup of vanilla almond milk is my substitute of choice. If I’m making this post-run, I also like to add in a scoop of vanilla protein powder just for kicks. 🙂 

And then there’s the strawberries. I really didn’t envision myself soliloquizing so much about a smoothie, but strawberries just taste good. They also tout all of the health benefits that go along with fresh fruit–antioxidants, Vitamin C, fiber, manganese, etc., etc.  And with the banana the flavor’s almost…nostalgic? It reminds me of the Gogurt tubes I used to have with my lunch in third grade. A happier time. 😛

So, anywho, there are a few things we learned today. One, eat around your workout. It’s good for ya. Two, bananas are amazing! And three, well, I can write a lot about nothing. 🙂 Let’s just get to the smoothie, shall we? 

[yumprint-recipe id=’22’] 

Leave a Reply

